Home / Blogs / A-Level


The Advanced Level (A-Level) is an academic certification program that is integral to the United Kingdom's general education certificate. It is available through UK educational institutions and was created to give students a course-based pathway for their studies. 

Enrolling in courses to obtain three or more A-level credentials during the two-year period preceding the commencement of university education is possible. To obtain A-Level certifications, students are required to undergo a series of examinations. Despite being a qualification program originating from the United Kingdom, A-Level is recognized as a widely acknowledged credential globally.

In order to gain a comprehensive understanding of A-Level, it is imperative to familiarize ourselves with the concepts of GCE, GCSE, and IGCSE.


The General Certificate of Education (GCE) is a collection of course-based academic certificates that are utilized in England, Wales, Northern Ireland, and the Crown territories. The General Certificate of Education (GCE) primarily comprises:

  • Ordinary Level ('O Level')
  • Advanced Subsidiary Level ('A1 Level' or 'AS Level') and
  • Advanced Level ('A-Level')

The General Certificate of Education, Advanced Level (GCE' A-Levels') is widely recognized as a university admission credential in numerous nations globally, including universities within the United Kingdom.

After finishing Year 11, typically at the age of 16, students in the United Kingdom must take the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE). This certification is a requirement for all students residing in England, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

The General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) offers a comprehensive selection of over 90 courses for students to pursue. These courses encompass a wide range of subjects, such as English, mathematics, science, history, geography, and foreign languages. The assessment of GCSE courses is conducted through a combination of examinations and assignments. The grading system utilized for General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) courses encompasses a range from A* to G, with A* representing the highest attainable grade and G denoting the lowest achievable grade.

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a globally recognized academic credential with students from over 150 nations worldwide. The IGCSE qualification holds recognition from numerous universities and university colleges worldwide, particularly in regions that employ English-style education systems. 

Similar to the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE), the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) offers a comprehensive selection of over 70 courses for students to pursue. These courses encompass a wide range of subjects such as English, mathematics, sciences, geography, history, and foreign languages. 

Students' performance in these courses is evaluated through a combination of assignments and examinations. The grading system utilized for IGCSE courses ranges from A* to G, with A* representing the highest attainable grade and G representing the lowest.

To fulfill the prerequisites for enrolling in A-level courses and applying to university, completing a minimum of five IGCSE courses is necessary. 

These courses should yield grades ranging from 4 to 9, or alternatively, one may complete courses that are deemed equivalent to IGCSE courses in another curriculum. 

Studying at least one foreign language course, preferably English, is also required.

What are AS Level and A2 Level?

The A-Level certification program can be delineated into two distinct components. Each of these components is distributed throughout an academic year and is concluded during the same academic year.

The initial component of the curriculum is referred to as the "Advanced Subsidiary Level," often known as AS Level, while the subsequent component is known as A2 Level. 

The AS Level is an independent qualification, while the combination of the AS Level and the A2 Level constitutes the whole A-Level certificate. 

The process of evaluating the overall A-level grade of students enrolled in the program involves the consideration of AS-level and A2-level grade point averages (GPAs).

During the twelfth year of secondary education, commonly referred to as the AS Level year, students typically select three or four subjects. 

Students aiming to get admission to highly competitive universities, such as the University of Oxford or Cambridge University, particularly in fields like medicine or law, may choose to enroll in a greater number of courses. 

However, it is typically observed that the admission requirements for most colleges typically involve three A-level grades.

During the 13th year of education, commonly referred to as the A2 Level year, students have the option to either progress with the advanced levels of their previously chosen subjects or opt for new courses. 

The scores students received on the exams given at the conclusion of the 13th year determine their final A-level grades. It is the students' responsibility to cover the course content included in these exams during both years.

As previously indicated, the AS Level and A2 Level courses are designed to be distributed within a single academic year. Students have the opportunity to attempt the examination on two occasions annually, with the initial sitting being scheduled for the months of May or June and the subsequent sitting taking place in October or November. 

It is imperative to acknowledge that students are required to complete the A2 level examinations within a 12-month timeframe after completing the AS level examinations. Otherwise, AS Level results are deemed invalid and cannot be amalgamated with A2 Level grades in order to attain an A-Level certification.

AS Level and A2 Level Difference

Both programs have a duration of one year and necessitate students to engage in a year-long period of concentrated academic pursuit, culminating in examinations that account for 50% of the final A-level mark.

There are subtle variations in the examination formats employed in the context of AS Level and A2 Level. AS-level science examinations typically include multiple-choice parts, whereas A2-level science examinations do not have this particular format. 

A2 Level courses and examinations may present more challenges than AS Level courses and examinations since AS Level courses serve as the foundational framework for A2 Level studies.

The overwhelming majority of A2 Level examinations encompass the knowledge that students have acquired during their AS Level coursework. 

In the context of a student undertaking an AS Level Physics course, it is imperative for them to retain and effectively utilize the knowledge acquired during this course in order to achieve success in their subsequent A2 Level examinations.

What can students do with their A-levels?

The IGCSE and A-Level certifications are widely acknowledged and esteemed academic credentials on an international scale. These competencies possess the potential to provide several opportunities for individuals.

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) and Advanced Level (A-Level) qualifications hold recognition at a significant number of universities across 125 countries, with particular prominence in England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, Canada, and Australia.

These qualifications are deemed acceptable for inclusion in university applications. The IGCSE and A-Level curricula effectively provide students with the necessary skills and knowledge to pursue a prosperous professional trajectory aligned with their chosen fields of study.

The selection of courses should be undertaken with utmost consideration for the educational program one intends to pursue at the university, with the guidance of knowledgeable professionals.